Welcome to SilvaVest GmbH

Your partner for sustainable direct investment in timberland and agricultural land

Sustainable direct investment in timberland and agricultural land won’t make you rich overnight, but it help to secure your wealth. Particularly for investors looking for long-term security and capital growth, rather than short-term cash flow, these inflation-proof material assets are a great way of diversifying and hedging a portfolio to reduce risk.

A new direction; an unaccustomed challenge. Even on unfamiliar terrain, with an experienced partner by your side, a partner which has proven its dependability, expertise and confidentiality from initial consultation through to purchase, and has proven its ability to sustainably and successfully manage assets for many years after purchase, you can still find your way to the right project for you.

SilvaVest GmbH: As independent consultants and asset managers for sustainable land use investments, we have been providing buyers and sellers of agricultural land and timberland with comprehensive, discreet, expert support since 2004. “Rooted in Germany, networked globally.” Over the last few years, on behalf of our clients – primarily families, businesses and institutional investors – we have sought out, appraised and successfully acquired over 240,000 hectares of agricultural land and timberland, primarily in Canada and the US, with a value of several hundred million euros. Together with our local partners, we are now managing these assets sustainably and profitably on behalf of their new owners.

Get in touch – we’ll be happy to help!

Timberland investments with SilvaVest GmbH: an introduction

YouTube

By loading the video, you agree to YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

Outright timberland ownership offers everything the majority of institutional and private investors are looking for in a portfolio.

The video below provides a detailed introduction to timberland investments. [in German]

The basis for a unique business model

Would you like to enjoy long-term wealth preservation with inflation-proof material assets and see that wealth enjoy long-term growth? We offer a complete range of timberland and agricultural land investment services, all from a single provider. From purchase to successful management, we promise expertise, experience and independence.

Consulting

Long-term success needs values, a long-term vision, a powerful partner and expert advice. We are not legally, financially or professionally dependent on any external shareholders or third-party interests. We’re not selling a product, like a fund or equities. That enables us to think and act independently and scientifically – our duty is to our clients alone. Our expertise is particularly appreciated by investors with little or no expertise in forests and agricultural land as an asset class. The advice offered directly by our expert team is based on thorough market analysis and risk assessments.

Acquisition

After getting together to identify investment criteria, we initiate a search for the right opportunity in the right region for the client. We are helped by our international network of contacts, our many years of experience and our long track record of successfully completed acquisitions. With a 100% closing rate, we have earned ourselves an excellent reputation as a reliable partner for large private and institutional landowners, especially in North America. This enables us to acquire agricultural land and timberland for our clients before it even comes on the market. If our appraisal meets expectations, we can, if desired, organise a joint visit to view the land, outline suitable options, and introduce you to the owners, the region and potential local management partners.

Due Diligence

Acting as their point of contact and investment analyst, we provide our clients with comprehensive support from intention to purchase, through to drawing up the sales contract, right up to the moment the contract is signed. In the Anglo-American legal system in particular (Canada, USA, New Zealand, etc.), detailed due diligence is usually carried out only after concluding the sales contract. We arrange a meticulous review of the information provided by the seller. For large areas of timberland, this can take more than 60 days and encompasses not just detailed legal due diligence (checking legal title to the land, rights of ways, etc.), but also forestry due diligence (checking details of timber stocks, the state of the road and trail network on the land, hunting rights leases, etc.) and environmental due diligence (checking for past contamination, mineral rights, etc.). We also regularly check the information provided about the land using geographic information systems or aerial or satellite images. SilvaVest GmbH has a network of partners in each country, including registered law firms, tax lawyers, and forest and environmental surveyors. With the help of these partners, over the last few years we have successfully concluded more than 40 sales contracts for our clients.

Management

Sustainable management is the best option for ensuring a forest with a bright future and long-term revenues. After concluding the purchase contract, we take on the role of ‘facility manager’ on behalf of our clients, managing, monitoring and reporting in accordance with the new owner’s instructions. The tasks involved are varied, but include producing concrete forest management plans, reviewing timber sales contracts, forest maintenance contracts and road and trail construction contracts, preparing status and asset reports, and providing the new owner with comprehensive advice on all management-related questions. Of course this advice is not limited to timber utilisation, but also includes areas such as generating carbon credits, applying for subsidies, managing camp or hunting rights leases – in fact any questions at all relating to the investment.

Buying adjoining land and selling land

To date, none of our clients have divested themselves entirely of timberland or ranches acquired through SilvaVest GmbH. Most have, however, reinvested excess profits in acquiring further land, in some cases by buying adjoining land, in some cases by acquiring new land. We use our network of contacts and access extensive databases to identify suitable options – and not necessarily just timberland or agricultural land. And sometimes, especially when buying larger areas of timberland, it makes sense to resell at a profit individual plots of land which have the potential for better use for other purposes. This too is something that SilvaVest has successfully carried out on behalf of our clients on multiple occasions.

SilvaVest GmbH in numbers

Since its formation more than 15 years ago, the company has developed into one of Europe’s leading consulting and service providers for sustainable investment in timberland and agricultural land. To illustrate the scale of our business and the beneficial effects for our clients, the environment and society, we have put together some figures on our land under management (as at January 2021).

0
forests and ranches acquired and managed
0
hectares of land under our management
0
lakes fully enclosed by the land
0
million tonnes of timber stocks on the land
0
economically significant tree species
0
cubic metres of wood growth per year, of which approx. 50% is used
0
people directly employed in land management
0
million of value created from the harvested timber per year
0
million tonnes of CO2 sequestered in tree biomass alone
0
tonnes net annual CO2 sequestration from unused wood growth
0
hectares of protected biotopes (marshland, heathland, moist forests, etc.), lakes and rivers
0
leases (hunting rights, camps, maple syrup production, etc.)
0
managed wind turbines
0
rare animal and plant species (and many more)

Timberland as a sustainable direct investment – an introduction

On first contacting us, a large majority of our clients have little experience with land used for agriculture or forestry. They come to us looking for sound, independent advice. There are lots of questions to be answered and they need an introduction to the general set-up, trends, interdependencies, risks and opportunities involved in direct investment.

Our brochure provides an initial introduction to the topic by answering questions frequently asked by our clients. The brochure enables clients to obtain some initial insights, backed up with photos, graphics and tables. It is, however, no substitute for a face-to-face meeting, which we would be very happy to arrange.

Request a copy now

Willkommen bei der SilvaVest GmbH

Ihr Partner für nachhaltige Direktinvestitionen in Wald und Agrarland

Mit nachhaltigen Direktinvestitionen in Wald und Agrarland wird niemand schnell vermögend, aber man bleibt es. Insbesondere Investoren, die eher langfristige Sicherheit und Wertzuwachs suchen als kurzfristigen Cashflow, bieten die inflationsgeschützten Sachwerte eine große Chance zur Absicherung und Risikominimierung durch Diversifikation des eigenen Portfolios.

Ein neuer Weg, eine ungewohnte Herausforderung! Mit einem erfahrenen Partner, der Verlässlichkeit, Kompetenz und Vertraulichkeit von der Beratung bis zum Kauf genauso nachgewiesen hat, wie nachhaltigen Erfolg bei der langjährigen Bewirtschaftung nach dem Kauf, findet man sein individuelles Projekt, auch auf unbekanntem Terrain.

SilvaVest GmbH: Als unabhängiger Berater und Asset-Manager rund um Investitionen in die nachhaltige Landnutzung, stehen wir Käufern und Verkäufern von Wald und Agrarland seit 2004 mit Sachverstand und Diskretion umfassend zur Seite – „in Deutschland verwurzelt und international vernetzt“. Wir haben im Auftrag unserer Kunden – vor allem Familien, Unternehmen und institutionelle Investoren – in den letzten Jahren etwa 230.000 Hektar Wald- und Agrarflächen im Wert von mehreren Hundert Millionen Euro, insbesondere in Kanada und den USA gesucht, begutachtet und erfolgreich akquiriert. Wir bewirtschaften diese Assets nun gemeinsam mit unseren Partnern vor Ort, nachhaltig und rentabel, im Auftrag der neuen Eigentümer.

Kontaktieren Sie uns – wir nehmen uns gern Zeit für Sie!

Waldinvestments mit der SilvaVest GmbH: Eine Einführung

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Wald mit Grundbuchtitel bietet Vieles von dem, was die Mehrzahl der institutionellen und privaten Anleger im Portfolio suchen.

Im Folgenden, etwa 15-minütigem Video erhalten Sie eine Einführung in das Thema Waldinvestments mit der SilvaVest GmbH.

Grundlage für ein einzigartiges Geschäftsmodell

Sie möchten Ihr Vermögen auf lange Sicht mit inflationsgeschützten Sachwerten erhalten und nachhaltig vermehren? Wir bieten Ihnen alle Leistungen bei Investitionen in Wald und Agrarland aus einer Hand – vom Kauf bis zur erfolgreichen Bewirtschaftung: kompetent, erfahren und unabhängig!

Beratung

Langfristiger Erfolg braucht Werte, Weitsicht, einen starken Partner und kompetente Beratung. Wir sind nicht von fremden Gesellschaftern oder Interessen Dritter abhängig, weder rechtlich noch wirtschaftlich noch fachlich. Wir haben keine eigenen Produkte, wie z. B. Fonds oder Beteiligungen. Das ermöglicht uns ein unabhängiges, wissenschaftlich fundiertes Denken und Handeln, allein unserem Kunden verpflichtet. Insbesondere Investoren, die noch keine oder wenig Expertise im Bereich der Assetklassen Wald und Agrarland besitzen, schätzen unsere Fachkompetenz. Wir beraten mit einem fachlich und persönlich ausgewiesenen Team auf der Basis von gewissenhaften Marktanalysen und Risikoeinschätzungen.

Akquisition

Nach der gemeinsamen Identifikation der Investmentkriterien gehen wir auf die Suche nach der passenden Kaufchance in der für den Kunden richtigen Region. Dabei hilft uns unser internationales Netzwerk und unser langjähriger Track Record mit vielen erfolgreich abgewickelten Akquisitionen. Mit einer 100%igen Closing-Rate haben wir uns einen Namen als verlässlicher Partner bei großen privaten und institutionellen Landbesitzern, insbesondere in Nordamerika gemacht. Dies ermöglicht es uns, Agrarland und Waldflächen für unsere Kunden zu akquirieren, bevor sie auf den Markt kommen. Erfüllt unsere Begutachtung die Erwartungen, präsentieren wir – falls gewünscht – die passenden Optionen, Eigentümer, die Region und mögliche Partner bei der Bewirtschaftung vor Ort während einer gemeinsamen Besichtigungsreise.

Due Diligence

Wir begleiten unsere Kunden als Ansprechpartner und Organisator umfassend von der Kaufabsicht über die Erstellung des Kaufvertrages bis zu seiner Unterzeichnung. Insbesondere im angelsächsischen Rechtssystem (Kanada, USA, Neuseeland u. a.) finden umfassende Due-Diligence-Prüfungen (DD) i. d. R. erst nach Kaufvertragsabschluss statt. Wir organisieren die sorgfältige Überprüfung der vom Verkäufer bereitgestellten Informationen. Dies kann bei größeren Waldflächen über 60 Tage dauern und umfasst nicht nur eine detaillierte rechtliche DD (Prüfung der Rechtstitel, der Wegerechte u. v. m.), sondern auch die forstwirtschaftliche DD (Prüfung der Angaben zum Holzvorrat, Zustand des internen Wegenetzes, Jagdpachtverträge u. v. m.) sowie die umwelttechnische DD (Prüfung auf Altlasten, Mineral Rights u. v. m.). Zudem kontrollieren wir regelmäßig die vorliegenden Flächenangaben mit geografischen Informationssystemen bzw. Luft- oder Satellitenbildinterpretationen. Uns steht hier in jedem Land ein Partner-Netzwerk an ausgewiesenen Kanzleien, Steuerfachanwälten, Forst- und Umwelt-Gutachtern zur Verfügung, das in den letzten Jahren gemeinsam mit uns über 40 Kaufverträge für Kunden zum erfolgreichen Abschluss gebracht hat.

Bewirtschaftung

Eine nachhaltige Bewirtschaftung ist die beste Option für einen zukunftsfähigen Wald und langfristig hohe Erlöse. Wir übernehmen für unsere Kunden nach erfolgreichem Abschluss des Kaufvertrages die Funktion des „Facility Managers“, der nach den Vorgaben des neuen Eigentümers den „Property Manager“ vor Ort steuert, prüft und Bericht erstattet. Zum vielfältigen Aufgabenbereich gehören z. B. die Erstellung von konkreten Forstwirtschaftsplänen, die Prüfung von Verträgen zum Holzverkauf, zur Waldpflege, zum Wegebau, die Erstellung von Sachstands- und Vermögensberichten, aber auch die umfassende Beratung des neuen Eigentümers zu allen Fragen der Bewirtschaftung selbst. Dies umfasst selbstverständlich nicht ausschließlich die Holznutzung, sondern z. B. auch die Generierung von CO2-Zertifikaten, die Beantragung von Fördermitteln, das Steuern der Pächter von Camps oder der Jagden – mithin alle Fragen, die in Zusammenhang mit seinem Investment stehen.

Arrondierung & Verkauf

Keiner unserer Kunden hat sich bisher von einem über die SilvaVest GmbH akquirierten Wald oder einer Farm komplett getrennt. Die meisten haben jedoch erwirtschaftete Überschüsse in Zukäufe, teils Arrondierungen, teils neue Flächen, mit uns reinvestiert. Die SilvaVest geht über ihr Netzwerk und den Zugriff auf umfassende Datenbanken auf die Suche nach geeigneten Optionen, die nicht nur Wald oder Agrarland sein müssen. Zudem: Manchmal bietet es sich insbesondere beim Kauf größerer Waldpakete an, einzelne Flächen mit „Higher-and-Better-Use-Potenzial“ gewinnbringend weiterzuverkaufen. Auch dies ist der SilvaVest mehrfach im Kundenauftrag gelungen.

SilvaVest GmbH in Zahlen

Seit unserem Start vor über 15 Jahren haben wir uns zu einem europaweit führenden Beratungs- und Dienstleistungsunternehmen für nachhaltige Investitionen in Wald und Agrarland entwickelt. Die Größenordnung sowie die positiven Wirkungen für unsere Kunden und für die Umwelt bzw. Gesellschaft haben wir anhand einiger Zahlen für die durch uns bewirtschafteten Flächen zusammengefasst (Stand: 01/2020).

0
akquirierte und bewirtschaftete Wälder und Farmen
0
Hektar Gesamtfläche unter Management
0
voll umschlossene Seen
0
Mio. t Holzvorrat auf den Flächen
0
forstwirtschaftlich relevante Baumarten
0
Festmeter Holzzuwachs / Jahr, davon ca. 50% genutzt
0
direkt Beschäftigte durch die Bewirtschaftung
0
Mio. € / Jahr Wertschöpfung aus dem geernteten Zukunftsrohstoff Holz
0
Mio. t CO2 allein in der Baumbiomasse gebunden
0
t CO2 jährliche Nettospeicherung durch ungenutzte Holzzuwächse
0
Hektar geschützte Biotope (Moore, Heiden, Feuchtwälder u. v. m.), Seen und Flüsse
0
Pachtverträge (Jagden, Camps, Ahornsirup-Produktion u. v. m.)
0
betreute Windkraftanlagen
0
seltene Tier- und Pflanzenarten (und noch viele mehr)

Wald als nachhaltiges Direktinvestment: Eine Einführung

Der überwiegende Teil unserer Kunden hat beim ersten Kontakt zu uns wenig Erfahrung mit land- und forstwirtschaftlich genutzten Immobilien und sucht erst einmal eine fundierte, unabhängige Beratung. Es gilt viele Fragen zu beantworten und in Rahmenbedingungen, Trends und Interdependenzen, Risiken und Chancen von direkten Investitionen einzuführen.

Mit unserer Broschüre geben wir eine erste Einführung in die Thematik, indem wir häufig gestellte Fragen unserer Kunden beantworten. Die Broschüre ermöglicht einen ersten Einblick, hinterlegt mit einigen Fotos, Grafiken und Tabellen. Ein persönliches Gespräch, zu dem wir Sie gerne einladen, kann sie nicht ersetzen.

Jetzt anfordern